May 2024 IAB Agenda

Meeting Location: Phillips Hall – Rm 101
116 Hoy Rd, Ithaca, NY 14853

Unless specified, meeting sessions will be held in Phillips Hall – Rm 101.

Wednesday, May 29

2:00 p.m. Registration Begins
3:00 – 6:00 p.m. Stem Committee Meeting

  • Markets (3-4 p.m.):
    Kory Hedman, Arizona State University, Chair
    Tongxin Zheng, ISO-NE, Vice-Chair
  • Systems (4-5 p.m.):
    Venkataramana Ajjarapu, Iowa State, Chair
    Bo Gong, SRP, Vice-Chair
  • T&D (5-6 p.m.):
    Sakis Meliopoulos, Georgia Tech, Chair
    Kurt LaFrance, CMS, Vice-Chair
6:00 – 7:45 p.m. Welcome Reception – The Statler Hotel, Taylor Room
7:00 – 8:45 p.m. Executive Committee Meeting – Phillips Hall, Room 233


Thursday, May 30

7:30 – 8:30 a.m. Registration
7:30 – 8:30 a.m. Breakfast – Duffield Hall, Atrium
8:30 – 9:00 a.m. Director’s Welcome and Update
Kory W. Hedman, PSERC Director, Arizona State University
9:00 – 9:30 a.m. Project S-98G (Systems Stem)
Title: Model reduction and translation for coordinated expansion planning studies 
Project Leader: James McCalley (Iowa State)
Team Members: Ali Jahanbani Ardakani (Iowa State)
9:30 – 10:00 a.m. Project S-99 (Systems Stem)
Title: Incorporating climate impacts into electricity system planning models: review and case study
Project Leader: Ana Dyreson (Michigan Tech)
Team Members: Line Roald (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison), Thomas Overbye (Texas A&M), and Hao Zhu (Univ. of Texas) 
10:00 – 10:30 a.m. Break
10:30 – 11:00 a.m. Project S-100 (Systems Stem)
Title: Detection, Characterization, and Mitigation of Disruptive Events (DECODE) by Combining Machine Learning/Artificial Intelligence on Synchrophasors and Physics-based Analysis
Project Leader: Mladen Kezunovic (Texas A&M)
Team Members: Vijay Vittal (Arizona State), Vaithianathan (Mani) Venkatasubramanian (Washington State), and Anamitra Pal (Arizona State)
11:00 – 11:30 a.m. Project S-101G (Systems Stem)
Title: Comparison of Positive-Sequence Simulation Versus Three-Phase Simulation of IVRs and Rotating Loads in Time Domain Simulation
Project Leader: Vijay Vittal (Arizona State)
Team Members: Mojdeh Khorsand (Arizona State)
11:30 – 12:00 p.m. Project S-102G (Systems Stem)
Title: Second Stage in Feasibility Assessment of Synchronous Operations of the North American Eastern and Western Interconnections
Project Leader: Thomas Overbye (Texas A&M)
Team Members: Farnaz Safdarian (Texas A&M), Adam Birchfield (Texas A&M), and Jonathan Snodgrass (Texas A&M)
12:00 – 1:00 p.m.  Lunch – Duffield Hall, Atrium
1:00 – 1:30 p.m. Project S-103G (Systems Stem)
Title: Oscillation Analysis with SCADA using Inferential Statistics (OASIS)
Project Leader: Vaithianathan (Mani) Venkatasubramanian (Washington State)
1:30 – 2:00 p.m.
Project M-43 (Markets Stem)
Title: Integrating RTO and utility processes in planning and cost allocation
Project Leader: James McCalley (Iowa State)
Team Members: Jacob Mays (Cornell) and Lizhi Wang (Iowa State)
2:00 – 2:30 p.m.
Project T-66 (T&D Stem)
Title: Modeling, Characterization and Suppression of Temporary Overvoltages in Power Grids with High Share of Inverter-Based Resources
Project Leader: Saeed Lotfifard (Washington State)
Team Members: Sakis Meliopoulos (Georgia Tech)
2:30 – 3:00 p.m. Break
3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Poster Session – Duffield Hall, Atrium
6:30- 8:45 p.m. IAB Dinner The Statler Hotel, Ballroom Foyer & Ballroom

Friday, May 31

7:00 – 8:00 a.m. Breakfast – Duffield Hall, Atrium
8:00 – 8:15 a.m. Dean’s Welcome
8:15 – 8:30 a.m. IAB Business Meeting Feedback
IAB Chair: Tongxin Zheng, ISO New England
8:30 – 9:10 a.m. NYISO Presentation
Pradip Kumar
9:10 – 9:50 a.m.
ERCOT Presentation
Venkata Tirupati
9:50 – 10:10 a.m. Break
10:10 – 10:50  a.m. IBM Presentation
Hendrik Hamann
10:50 – 11:30  a.m. AI Panel
11:30 a.m. Adjourn