Power Systems Engineering Research Center

T-58 Project Summary 

Power Electronics to Improve the Performance of Modern Power Systems: Case Study on Partially Rated Solid-State Transformers

Summary As the power industry prepares to update distribution and transmission assets that are reaching the end of their lifetime, it is prudent to consider alternatives and likely new applications enabled by technological advances. Among these technologies are power electronics solutions, especially in the light of recent and / or potential advances in technology and material science (e.g., the advent of wide bandgap devices). We propose a two-pronged research effort: (i) an explorative study on the requirements of power electronics (e.g., ratings, basic impulse level, lifetime, and maintenance) and necessary improvements in this technology to enable its use in power systems and (ii) an application design study of partially rated power electronics-enabled transformers for truck-mounted and load tap changer applications.
Academic Team Members Project Leader: Ali Mehrizi-Sani (Washington State University, mehrizi@eecs.wsu.edu)
Team members: Gerald Heydt (Arizona State University, heydt@asu.edu )
Maryam Saeedifard (Georgia Tech, maryam@ece.gatech.edu)
Industry Team Members Xiaoming Feng (ABB), Reynaldo Nuqui (ABB), Bob Malek (AEP), Giuseppe Stanciulescu (BC Hydro), Anders Johnson (BPA), Terry Oliver (BPA), Ziyuan Zhang (BPA), Alan Engelmann (ComEd-Exelon), Matt Gardner (Dominion Virginia Power), Chetan Mishra (Dominion Virginia Power), Venkat Sharma Kolluri (Entergy), Ram Adapa (EPRI), Evangelos Farantatos (EPRI), Miaolei Shao (GE Energy Consulting), Kathleen O'Brien (GE Global Research), Neil Kirby (GE Grid Software Solutions-formerly ALSTOM Grid), Deepak Konka (GE Grid Software Solutions-formerly ALSTOM Grid), Daniel Arjona (Idaho Power), Orlando Ciniglio (Idaho Power), Dale Osborn (MISO), Sudipta Chakraborty (NREL), Vahan Gevorgian (NREL), Eduard Muljadi (NREL), Saman Babaei (NYPA), Alan Ettlinger (NYPA), Joe Schatz (Southern Co.), Jay Caspary (SPP), Harvey Scribner (SPP), Naim Logic (SRP), Shaun Mann (Tri-State)
Project Period July 1, 2016 to August 31, 2018